1701 North Ocean Ave
Seaside Park, NJ 08752
Karen Barna, Borough Clerk
732-793-3700 ext. 106
Request for Professional Services (2015)
- Borough Attorney
- Borough Auditor
- Borough Bond Counsel
- Borough Engineer
- Borough Prosecutor
- Borough Alternate Prosecutor
- Borough Public Defender
- Borough Alternate Public Defender
- Special Legal Counsel
- Planning Board Attorney
- Planning Board Engineer
- Borough Conflict Public Defender
- Real Estate Appraiser for Tax Appeals
Video Guide for 1st Time NJ Voters
The Hall Institute of Public Policy and the League of Women Voters of New Jersey have created a 5-minute video public service (PSA) announcement entitled “What Happens When You Go To Vote in New Jersey: A Step-by-Step Guide”. The PSA was filmed at the Mercer County Board of Elections’ warehouse.
This informative video can be downloaded for free at the Hall Institute website at www.hallnj.org.
For full details about the PSA, click here to view the news release or visit www.hallnj.org.
Voter Registration (2009)
In New Jersey, any voter can now vote by Mail-In Ballot for any election.
You do not need a reason to vote by Mail-In Ballot.
Don’t feel like going to the polls? Simply vote by mail. Now there is “no excuse” not to vote!
Open Public Records Act Request Form
Registrar of Vital Statistics
As of the census of 2000, there were 2,263 people,
1,127 households, and 606 families residing in the borough.
|REG-D30||“Entering into a Marriage or Civil Union in New Jersey” Brochure||pdf 15k||doc 30k|
|REG-D30A||“Entering into a Marriage or Civil Union in New Jersey” (Spanish)||pdf 22k||doc 49k|
Please print out and complete the marriage license application form. You may also get an application form at the Local Registrar’s office.
Do not sign the marriage application form before going to the Local Registrar. You must sign the application, while under oath, in the presence of the issuing authority.
|REG-77||Application for License: Marriage, Remarriage, Civil Union, Reaffirmation of Civil Union Form||pdf 27k||doc 86k|
Requirements for entering into a Marriage:
For two persons to establish a Marriage in this State, it shall be necessary that they satisfy all of the following criteria:
- Not be a party to another civil union, domestic partnership or marriage in this State or recognized by this State;
- Be of the opposite sex ; and
- Be at least 18 years of age, except that applicants under the age of 18 may enter into a Marriage with parental consent. Applicants under the age of 16 must obtain parental consent and have the consent approve in writing by any judge of the Superior Court, Chancery Division, Family part.
Where to apply:
- The marriage license application is to be made in the New Jersey municipality in which either party resides and the license is valid throughout the State of New Jersey.
- If neither applicant is a New Jersey resident, submit the application in the municipality where the marriage ceremony will be performed, the license is only valid in the issuing municipality.
What you should bring with you when you apply for a marriage license:
- If you are divorced or have had a marriage annulled, please bring the divorce decree or the civil annulment documents.
- If your former spouse is deceased, please bring the death certificate,
- A copy of your birth certificate, driver’s license, passport or state I.D.
- Proof of your residency.
- Your social security card or social security number.*
- A witness (18 years or older) who knows both the male and female applicants.
- The $28 application fee.
*Your social security number is required by law and will be kept confidential.
Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.
After you apply:
There is a 72-hour waiting period before the license is issued. The waiting period begins when the application is filed.
The marriage license application is valid for six months from the date accepted, unless the Registrar has given prior approval to extend the validity of the application to a maximum of one year.
Only one marriage license may be granted from a marriage application. If the license expires before being used, a new application must be made and another $28 fee remitted.
The only exception to this requirement is in the case where a civil and religious ceremony are to be performed on the same day. In this case, the Local Registrar will photocopy the marriage application, marking one “A” and one “B”, and issue the corresponding marriage licenses, marking them “A” and “B” as well. One copy will be used for the religious ceremony and the other for the civil ceremony.
Please print out and complete the marriage license application form. You may also get an application form at the Borough Hall.
|REG-D33||“Registering a Domestic Partnership in New Jersey” Brochure||pdf 14k||doc 30k|
|REG-D33A||“Registering a Domestic Partnership in New Jersey” Brochure (Spanish)||pdf 25k||doc 57k|
Registering a Domestic Partnership In New Jersey
The Domestic Partnership Act became effective on July 10, 2004 and was amended by the Civil Union Act implemented on February 19, 2007.
Under the original Domestic Partnership Act same-sex couples age 18 or older and opposite-sex couples age 62 or older had to meet the requirements of the Act to register a Domestic Partnership. The implementation of the Civil Union Act amended this requirement such that effective February 19, 2007 same-sex or opposite-sex couples must be age 62 or older and meet the remaining eligibility requirements of the Domestic Partnership Act to register as Domestic Partners.
Domestic Partnerships registered prior to February 19, 2007 are still valid and are afforded the rights and benefits of Domestic Partners.
Registering a Domestic Partnership
Applicants must obtain an Affidavit of Domestic Partnership. The Affidavit must be completed and signed by both applicants at the same time, in the presence of a notary. The applicants must appear together to file with a Local Registrar of Vital Statistics at any municipality throughout the State and the required fee of $28 remitted. It is advisable to contact the Local Registrar’s Office in advance to ascertain if there are designated for accepting applications for marriage, civil union or domestic partnership. Domestic Partnerships are not considered registered until the Affidavit has been filed with the Local Registrar’s Office and the Certificate of Domestic Partnership has been issued.
Each applicant must supply valid identification that establishes name, age, date of birth and proof of residency. This may be supplied by one or more documents issued by a government agency, such as a certified copy of a birth certificate, driver’s license, military identification or state/county identification card. A registration or operator’s license for any motorized vehicle that must be registered with the Motor Vehicle Commission will be accepted. Motorized vehicles include motorcycles, boats and motor homes, to name a few. A passport or county issued ID will establish identity. A mortgage, lease, tax records or utility bills will establish residency.
Eligibility Requirements for registering a Domestic Partnership
Couples wishing to register a Domestic Partnership must be same sex couples or opposite sex couples who are both 62 years of age or older. Couples must:
- Share a common residence in New Jersey or any other jurisdiction provided that at least one of the applicants is a member of a New Jersey State-administered retirement system;
- Both persons are jointly responsible for each other’s common welfare as evidenced by joint financial arrangements or joint ownership of real or personal property;
- Both persons agree to be jointly responsible for each other’s basic living expenses during the domestic partnership;
- Not be party to a marriage or civil union recognized by New Jersey law or a member of a domestic partnership with another individual;
- Not be related to each other by blood or affinity up to and including the fourth degree of consanguinity (simply stated, individuals who are first cousins or more distantly related);
- Chose to share each other’s lives in a committed relationship of mutual caring;
- Not have legally terminated another domestic partnership within the last 180 days. (This prohibition does not apply when the previous partnership ended due to the death of the other partner).
If the residence is outside the State of New Jersey, at least one of the applicants must provide proof of membership in a New Jersey State-administered retirement system by providing one of the following documents issued by the Division of Pensions and Benefits:
- A Personal Benefits Statement from the current or previous year;
- a 1099R from the current or previous year or
- a Certificate of Pension Membership.
Filing of the documents
The Local Registrar in the municipality in which you register your Domestic Partnership will retain a copy of both the Affidavit of Domestic Partnership and the Certificate of Domestic Partnership. These documents will also be retained at the State Bureau of Vital Statistics, Office of the State Registrar.
To show proof of a Registered Domestic Partnership, you must obtain a certified copy of the Certificate of Domestic Partnership. A certified copy can be obtained from either of these entities. To obtain a copy of the certificate, you must identify the date and location of the filing for the Domestic Partnership, and provide identification to establish your identity.
Terminating a Domestic Partnership
In order to end a Domestic Partnership, you must file a request for termination with the Superior Court of the State of New Jersey. Following termination, you are responsible for notifying any entity that you had originally notified when you entered into the Domestic Partnership.
APPLICATION REQUEST FOR A CERTIFIED COPY OF A VITAL RECORD
To obtain a copy of a vital record, you must submit:
- ✓ Completed application including proof of your identify with photo.
- ✓ Proof of your relationship to the person listed on the vital record.
- ✓ Cost for a certified copy is $10.00 per copy.
- ✓ Please make payable by check, cash or money order to: The Borough of Seaside Park.
- ✓ Payment is required prior to processing.
- ✓ Please provide 24 hours’ notice.